Praise 4 Life by Sylvia Frost

Thoughtful Inspirations From A Joyful Heart

For the Single Ladies

on March 22, 2013

No, this is not a Beyoncé tribute.  Can you tell I’m not a fan?

I say this blog is for the single ladies because I’m a little depressed so I’m gonna say to all the married readers to skip this blog !!  I do NOT want to rub it off on you.

 After class Tuesday night I was talking with a dear friend and she made mention that my commitment to a strict budget has resulted in us missing the last FOUR action movies at the theater.  Now, that is a total of $32.00 ($20.00 if we would have hit the matinee). That is not much money when you think about the fact that I have missed….

 Sylvester Stallone “Bullet to the Head”

Bruce Willis “A Good Day to Die Hard”

Dwayne Johnson “Snitch”

And Colin Farrell “Dead Man Down”

 What a depressing situation.  Then today I get a text from her saying

 “GI Joe is coming out March 28th – we are going to be there!”

 Channing Tatum, Dwayne Johnson & Bruce Willis  – yep, there’s room in the budget!

 Still feeling a little down on the lost testosterone I began to watch

 “Captain America, the First Avenger”

There is a scene early on in the movie when Chris Evans is still a scrawny little fella in boot camp training and Tommy Lee Jones throws a grenade into a chris evans as steve rogers group of soldiers trying to prove that some big bully was the bravest in the bunch.  When the grenade unexpectedly lands right in the middle of their exercise they all scatter.  All, except Chris Evans who jumps on the grenade and yells to everyone to get away.

 It is a stupid scene in a stupid movie and I had to turn it off because I began to cry.  What was wrong with me?  If you have seen the two movies about Captain America the character is from the 1930’s and the lines his character says as well as the way he carries himself is from a bygone era when there were still men of great courage and great integrity.  I am sure there are men of this same caliber in the current generation but I find as I talk to my son and tell him to think for himself and look deeper in his life I find that, in fact, he does stand out in a crowd.  He opens doors for me, wants to spend time with me, still asks my opinion in areas of his life and genuinely loves me.  Most of his friends don’t care about anything.  It surprises me at how shallow they swim in life.

Be careful single ladies – I know my action movie addiction is a silly distraction and escape for me to get all the fantasy testosterone on the silver screen but it is a lot safer than being lied to and manipulated.

 I’m not a man hater – not by any means but I am raising a flag to you women out there in the dating world.  Better take a good look from a distance because when you get up close and personal you can lose focus and see only what you want to see.

Hormones can tell you that life he is a leading man in a romantic drama when in fact, it’s a horror movie !

one of lifes greatest risks is to be honest with ourselves


One response to “For the Single Ladies

  1. Winnie Mulligan says:

    Right I know this is not for us married people, but I am just so pleased to receive my 1st blog in ages…………………..so happy! And sometimes us married ones would prefer (at times) to be single! Happy Friday, have a great weekend everybody!

Leave a comment